Writing To A Deadline

image

Hi guys!

Twenty three days until the big edit starts! Eek!

Week One of JanuWriMo is over with and I am at twelve thousand words.

It hasn’t been easy working from an outline alone but I’m getting there. 🙂

I’m a by the seat of my pants kind of woman. Usually, I write the dialogue freehand in the form of a script before I start typing up the narrative on a computer. It gives me more freedom than an outline, I find.

It’s not just the outline I’ve found hard. My depression and anxiety has been on the rise this week after two weeks of respite. To end up in that black hole after some time away has been really difficult. I’ve tried distracting myself but the feelings of worthlessness, hopelessness and useless just keep getting worse.

Here’s the opening paragraph to Bloodlines.  

Enjoy!

She stood at the bottom of the bed, her eyes lingering on the sleeping woman tucked up in her flowery duvet. The sight made her want to vomit. She’d seen it all before, of course. Women with great structured lives, happy children and some well-built hunk to share it all with. Her parents had tried to pull of the same act right under her nose. Well, they weren’t exactly parents. She had no ties to them biologically. Unlike her so called sister who was top of the shitheap. What did she care, anyhow? She was used to coming last. Not anymore. She was sick of it. The time had come to where she’d be recognised for her greatness. The woman under the quilt rolled onto her back. First, she’d start with her.

Hope you liked it,

Until next week,

Blaze

With thanks to Bino Storyteller for the image via Unsplash.com

Leave a Reply

