NaNoWriMo: Day Twenty Eight

image

Pages: One Hundred and Eighty
Word Count: 62, 418

Hi guys!

I tried desperately to think of a topic for today’s post but all was lost. All I could think of was incessant babble and things that I’d sworn to keep away from my blogging posts.

Have you been writing listening to music during NaNoWriMo? Do you listen to music while writing in general? Writing my novel for NaNoWriMo I’ve been listening to Spotify playlists. Everything from dance to progressive rock to country. I always try to find one that goes hand in hand with the scene that I’m writing. While writing Adria’s I used gothic metal (with her despairing about her relationship with Robert) and for Daniel’s I used a pop/dance playlist for his reunion with Rosa.

I usually listen to music while writing a first draft of a novel. Sometimes it inspires me and other times it can be a distraction and stifle my creativity. It all depends on my mood and how my brain operates at the time.

When I first started writing Pandora’s Kiss eight years ago I used to listen to the radio, which as you know, is all very random. I didn’t focus on the music|
back then; it never fuelled my imagination or changed the direction the story was going in. Although, I do remember going to bed one night, the radio still playing away and Leona Lewis’s version of Run started playing. It created a vision of one of my character’s dying from battle and it was so vivid and fitting that I decided to run with it.

I’m pleased to say that she survived in previous drafts along with many others. The current draft doesn’t feature anybody dying which is good news for them.

Music can inspire us and act as a pathway to take us back to a place in time- whether happy or sad. It’s one of the things that I love about it.

I’m currently listening to Enya a lot andI’m currently listening to Enya a lot and letting it lead the way to create another story that’s lingering away in my head.

Happy Writing!

Until tomorrow,

Blaze

Leave a Reply

